Official List of Candidates

September 2017 Fall Election

Below is the list of candidates as approved by the Chief Returning Officer (CRO) and updated with the name of each candidate as soon as he or she is officially nominated. Click on the corresponding links to view the candidates' platform statements and the roles and responsibilities of the positions they are running for.

Also, please scroll down past the table to view important information on election campaigning, the all-candidates orientation meeting, the all-candidates forum, counting of the ballots, and appointment of scrutineers.

Platforms coming soon...

Name of Candidate Profile Platform
Adatia, Irshaad President Platform
Kang, SnehdeepPresidentPlatform
Brar, JashandeepVP Student LifePlatform
Fraser, AlexanderVP Student LifePlatform
Sidhu, GurleenVP Finance & AdministrationPlatform
Singh, JasvinderVP External AffairsPlatform
Singh, SimranjeetVP InternalPlatform
Grewal, HarjotDiversity & InclusionPlatform
Sandhu, Harsimran (withdrawn)Diversity & InclusionPlatform
Day, AngelineAboriginal Student RepPlatform
Toor, HarmandeepInternational Students' RepPlatform
Aggarwal, ArjunGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Brougham, LauraGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Kaur, SukhroopGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Kaur, ParmeetGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Malhi, ManjotGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Sidhu, MandeepGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Singh, GauravdeepGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Singh, HarsimratGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Warring, NavjotGeneral RepresentativePlatform
Tufano, AlbertoGeneral RepresentativePlatform

Election Campaigning

The election campaigning period starts on MOnday, October 2, 2017 at 12noon and closes Friday, October 6, 2017 at 4:30pm. Candidates are required to abide by campaign rules and conduct as set forth in Policy No. B2520 - Candidacy & Campaigning. Notably, they must remove all campaign materials on display including posters by Friday, October 6, 2017 at 4:30pm. Candidates found to be in violation of any of the candidacy and campaign rules will be disqualified by the CRO.

The All Candidates Orientation Meeting

An orientation meeting will be held with all the Candidates on Thursday, September 28, 2017 from 3:00pm to 4:00pm in Students' Union Building, Board Room (S110). The purpose of the meeting is to ensure that all the Candidates understand the electoral processes, rules, and regulations, and to clear up any misconceptions. The meeting is mandatory for all candidates. Candidates choosing not to attend this meeting will face election disqualification. If a candidate cannot attend this meeting for medical reasons or scheduled exams, supporting documentation must be provided. This will include a doctor's note, instructor note, or official Langara exam schedule. The Electoral Committee will review the circumstances and all rulings will be final.

The All Candidates Forum

In order to increase voter awareness, an All Candidates Forum will be held Thursday, October 5, 2017 from 11:45am to 12:15pm in the main foyer (Upper Lounge) of the Students' Union Building. All Candidates must be in attendance and available to meet the membership present at the Forum. Candidates must also prepare and read a short statement outlining their reasons for campaigning for a position on the Students' Union Executive Board. Creativity and inventiveness are requested in an attempt to make the Forum an exciting event. Candidates not in attendance will have their candidacy revoked.

Counting of Ballots

Counting of ballots (by-law 9.11.1) will take place at the Students' Union Building in the Boardroom and will start October 13, 2017 at 2:30pm.

Appointment of Scrutineers

Each candidate may appoint a scrutineer to observe the counting of ballots in accordance with by-law 9.11.2. The doors of the room where counting takes place will be locked and Scruitineers arriving even one minute late will not be allowed in under any circumstances.

Candidates must fill in a Scrutineer Appointment Form available from the Candidates Nomination Package. This form duly completed must be returned to the LSU Reception (S105) on or before October 11, 2017 at 2:00pm. Scrutineers must produce a valid piece of Id to be allowed in.

For more information, please stop by the LSU Office or contact the Chief Returning Officer at

Contact Information
100 West 49th Avenue
Vancouver, BC
V5Y 2Z6
Phone: 604 324-3881
Fax: 604 322-7547